Unclaimed Property - you may be richer than you think! - Washington State Department of Revenue


FAQs

Holder Information

Can holders report early?
How do I get an extension?
What is the Department of Revenue's Federal ID number (FEIN)?
How should securities be registered?
What is your mailing address?
Do holders have to report if there is nothing to report?
Do holders need to report items under $50?
Do holders need to report small amounts of unclaimed property even when the cost of research and reporting exceeds the property value?
Can I send the payment electronically?
We paid an owner funds that were reported to your office. How do we get our money back?
We reported property to you in error? How do we get our money back?
Can I report electronically?
Can I send you my report via e-mail?
We discovered "past due" property and would like to report it without penalty. Does your office accept voluntary disclosure agreements?
How do I open or close my Unclaimed Property account?
How do I obtain a Holder Reporting Number?
What category code do I use?
What type of reporting software do you accept?
What happens if I file late?
How do I find out more information about upcoming workshops regarding unclaimed property reporting?
How long do I have to keep my report and working file after I report?
We mailed out a check to a customer and it came back undeliverable. Do we report the incorrect address or just list it as unknown?
Does the State of Washington require an additional signed document when filing online?
Can I report property for other states to Washington?
What is My DOR?
What is SecureAccess Washington?

Q. Can holders report early?

In rare circumstances, the Department may grant a one-time approval for a Holder to report early. If you have a circumstance in which you believe you must file early, send your request to UCP@dor.wa.gov. In your request, provide your FEIN Number and the specific reason your business needs to report the property early.

Q. How do I get an extension?

Fax (360) 534-1498 or send an email with your request to UCP@dor.wa.gov. Please include the following information with your request:

  • Company name
  • Holder # or if not known provide company FEIN
  • Reason for extension
  • Length of extension needed

Q. What is the Department of Revenue's Federal ID number (FEIN)?

91-6001118

Q. How should securities be registered?

State of Washington Dept of Revenue
Unclaimed Property Section

Q. What is your mailing address?

For regular delivery:
PO BOX 34053
Seattle, WA  98124-1053

Courier Delivery only:
2500 E. Valley Rd., Suite C
Renton, WA  98055
Please specify AM delivery on the courier envelopes.

Q. Do holders have to report if there is nothing to report?

  • Yes, a negative report is required.
  • The report may be electronically filed by going to ucp.dor.wa.gov and clicking on Click here to file a negative report or by clicking on link: on-line.

Q. Do holders need to report items under $50?

  • Yes, there is no minimum amount in the law.
  • Items under $50 may be reported in an aggregate to simplify reporting.

Q. Do holders need to report small amounts of unclaimed property even when the cost of research and reporting exceeds the property value?

Yes, all unclaimed property should be reported. Below are some tips that may reduce costs.

  • Transfer unclaimed property "candidates" to an unclaimed property liability account to simplify research and reporting. If you have a specific issue, contact our staff.
  • Enter notes in your records when mail items are returned, thus needing to send a due diligence letter if the credit remains unclaimed.

Q. Can I send the payment electronically?

  • Yes, you can avoid a 5% penalty by filing and paying electronically. Holders who file their report on our website have the option of paying by E-check or ACH Credit. Holders who file through a third party reporting company may pay electronically by ACH Credit. To request our ACH Credit information and instructions, please send an email to UCP@dor.wa.gov.

Q. We paid an owner funds that were reported to your office. How do we get our money back?

Prior to repaying an owner we encourage Holders to check with our office to ensure we are still holding the funds. Call the Department directly or send an e-mail with the year reported, owner name and dollar amount we will check our database. If the account has not been paid we will flag the account to prevent paying the owner a second time.

  • Complete a Certificate of Holder
  • AND
  • Send proof of repayment such as a copy of a cancelled check or a statement signed by the owner acknowledging receipt of the funds.

Q. We reported property to you in error? How do we get our money back?

To reclaim the funds sent to us in error, complete the Application for Refund of Property, Interest or Penalty and send to UCP@dor.wa.gov.

Q. Can I report electronically?

Yes, we are able to accept your report electronically in the NAUPA II format. Electronic reporting and electronic payment are required in order to avoid a 5% penalty.

Q. Can I send you my report via e-mail?

No, email is not secure and the information you are sending may contain personal information about your customers. Holders are required to electronically file their reort. Click on link to learn more.

Q. We discovered "past due" property and would like to report it without penalty. Does your office accept voluntary disclosure agreements?

Yes, send an e-mail requesting "voluntary disclosure" (include your FEIN Number in the email) or contact Barbie Proffitt at (360) 534-1480 for more information. In order to qualify for a voluntary disclosure agreement, a Holder must not have previously reported in the State of Washington (including Negative reports).

Q. How do I open or close my Unclaimed Property account?

To open an account:

  • If a business has not previously reported unclaimed property in Washington before, you can create a new account when filing electronically. When you are filing and prompted for an access code, you may leave it blank. The system will then have you enter the relevent business information to create the holder account.

To close or inactivate your Unclaimed Property account:

  • E-mail or fax (360) 584-1498 a written request to our office with your request.

Q. How do I obtain a Holder Reporting Number?

A Holder Reporting Number is assigned once we receive your first report. To get a holder reporting number prior to submitting your report, please request a holder number from our office via e-mail. In your e-mail include your business name, FEIN, mailing address, and contact number.

Q. What category code do I use?

Use the code you believe best describes the funds you are reporting to our office. The code description is printed on claim forms and helps the owner understand what was lost and what proof they will need to provide.

Q. What type of reporting software do you accept?

The Department accepts files converted to standard NAUPA II format. Files in NAUPA II format from any vendor are acceptable.

Q. What happens if I file late?

Beginning July 1, 2017, the Department of Revenue began assessing penalties (RCW 63.29.340)

  • 10% penalty for failure to file an Unclaimed Property Report or pay or deliver property under a report by the due date.
  • 10% penalty when examination results in an assessment for amounts unpaid or property not delivered.
  • 5% penalty for failure to pay property under an assessment by the due date.
  • 5% penalty of amounts payable or deliverable under the report for failure to file and pay elecronically, when required.

Q. How do I find out more information about upcoming workshops regarding unclaimed property reporting?

Holder workshops are offered throughout the state each year. You may view the schedule and register online.

Q. How long do I have to keep my report and working file after I report?

You should keep a copy of your unclaimed property report and the supporting documents for six years after you file.

Q. We mailed out a check to a customer and it came back undeliverable. Do we report the incorrect address or just list it as unknown?

Report the last known address, even if it is undeliverable. We use the address to establish the owner's claim to the property.

Q. Does the State of Washington require an additional signed document when filing online?

No, filing online does not require you to mail anything else to us.

Q. Can I report property for other states to Washington?

As a convenience, if you are a Holder located in the state of Washington, you may file incidental** property from other States* on your Washington Unclaimed Property report.

Once reported our office, we will forward the names of out-of state owners to the appropriate states along with the property. Whether you report the property to our office or to the state directly, you must follow each state’s laws on dormancy periods. Some states may require you to report to them directly even if the property is considered incidental. For property that does not fall under the definition of incidental you will need to report directly to the state of last known address.

*Due to law changes, any property owing to owners with a last known address in California must be reported directly to California no matter how many names or the value.

**Incidental property is defined as ten or fewer properties, totaling $1,000 or less, which belong to a state other than the state to which the properties were remitted.

Q. What is My DOR?

My DOR is the secure portal for Department of Revenue’s online services. You can use your SecureAccess Washington username and password to log into My DOR. After you have logged in, you'll be able to pursue a claim, file holder reports, send and receive secure messages, and conduct other secure tax and licensing business with the department.

Q. What is SecureAccess Washington?

SecureAccess Washington (SAW) is an application gateway created and maintained by Washington Technology Solutions (WaTech). SAW allows users to access multiple state government services with the use of a single user ID and password. To learn more, visit the SecureAccess Washington FAQs

Printer Friendly | Your Privacy ©2007 Washington State Department of Revenue and its licensors. All rights reserved.