5% penalty applies for failure to file and pay electronically.
Guide to Reporting Unclaimed Property (pdf)
Electronically file your report in two steps:
Frequently Asked Questions
Listserv E-mail Service (Sign up to receive e-mail messages for updates that may affect you.)
Reports are due by October 31st of each year.
We offer two ways to file your report:
Must be completed every year
Must be completed every year
Safe Deposit Box Report
Use if you have safe deposit box contents to report
Aggregate & Unknown Report
Use if you are combining several small amounts, or you have property to report that does not have an owner name associated with it
Certificate of Holder
Use if you made a mistake on a previous report, or you paid an owner funds that have already been reported to our office.
(Form With Instructions)
Confidential Unclaimed Property Information Authorization Form
Use if you are authorizing the Department to share your confidential Unclaimed Property information with the business/person(s) you name.
As a convenience, if you are a Holder located in the state of Washington, you may file one Unclaimed Property report with our office even if you are holding property for owners who live in other states.* The property must be considered incidental** property in order to be included on your report.
Once reported our office will forward the names of out-of state owners to the appropriate states. Whether you report the property to our office or to the state directly, you must follow each state’s laws on dormancy periods. Some states may require you to report to them directly even if the property is considered incidental. For property that does not fall under the definition of incidental you will need to report directly to the state of last known address.
*Due to law changes, any property owing to owners with a last known address in California must be reported directly to California no matter how many names or the value.
**NAUPA has defined incidental property as ten or fewer properties, totaling $1,000 or less, which belong to a state other than the state to which the properties were remitted.
A holder is anyone who owes money or property to an individual or business. When
the holder cannot find the owner, the unclaimed property must be reported to
the Washington State Department of Revenue. Common holders are:
Holders must review their records every year to see if they have any funds,
securities or other items that have been abandoned (pdf), and report it to the Department of Revenue by November
1. (See Washington State Law (RCW 63.29))
For items over $75, written notices must be sent by the holder to the owners
(only those with valid addresses) between May 1st and August 1st of every year.
The letter should indicate that the holder is holding property for them which
may be turned over to Washington State. See our
sample letter (pdf).
Some common examples of what should be reported include amounts from:
Holders should also report contents from safe deposit boxes five years after the lease expires.
Is your business reporting unclaimed property correctly? Workshop participants
will learn their reporting obligations and how to identify and report unclaimed
The Department has several types of workshops designed to help your organization
report unclaimed property. Take a look at our schedule and sign up for a
workshop online. Hurry - these free, three hour workshops will fill up fast!
Unclaimed Property workshop schedule
If you would like a Department of Revenue representative to come to your office, staff meeting or conference, let us know!
Just fill out our online Speech Request form and a
representative will contact you to set up a date and time. You can also check
out our list of speaker topics.
Helpful Reporting Information