Click the Pursue Claim button and follow the instructions on the screen. Our
easy to use electronic filing system will ask you questions and guide you
through the process. You can either submit your claim electronically, or print
a claim voucher to mail to our office. We encourage you to file your claim
electronically, it’s the fastest, easiest way to claim your property.
When you click on the "attach proof" link, you can upload the proof requested directly into
our system. You will probably need a scanner to get your items into an electronic format.
If you do not have a scanner, you can still use our electronic filing
system. Just chose the mail in option from the Provide Proof page and
print the claim voucher. The voucher lists the items we need to process your claim.
Make copies of the items listed and mail them to our office.
Some claims can be without any extra proof required. If your claim
requires additional information and you cannot submit
electronically or print a claim voucher you can:
If your name was added to our database during the month, your name will not
appear until the next update. Our on-line database is updated once a week.
For more information refer to the How to File a Claim page on our web site.
There could be a number of reasons the holder didn't contact you before
reporting and transferring the property as unclaimed. For example:
Companies are not required to notify owners of items under $75 prior to
reporting and transferring it to us.
If a company does not report an address with a name, the claimant will be
required to provide proof that they did business with the company who reported
An example of proof is a receipt or statement with the original owner's name
and the company name.
If you have never done business with the company reporting the property then
the funds may belong to someone else.
No. Unclaimed property is always available to the owner.
Claims are processed within 60 days of receipt. If the claim is for shares
of stock or mutual funds, it may take up to 90 days.
Go to www.unclaimed.org, a national site
that contains links to 49 states and the District of Columbia.
An asset locator, fee finder, or heir finder is a person or company who charges
a fee for helping owners receive their unclaimed property. The fee is usually a
percentage of the money due to the owner.
Under Washington law, a finder may not charge a fee of more than 5% of the
property value. Owners and their heirs do not need to pay a finder's fee to
anyone to claim funds being held by the State of Washington.
To ensure confidentiality, specific dollar amounts will not be given out over
the phone until ownership is established.
Yes. You’ll have to complete a one-time process to access your claim information
from our old system in My DOR. After you log in, you’ll be asked whether you submitted
a claim in the past two years, click Yes and then enter the user ID and password
you used with our old system to view your claim information.
My DOR is the secure portal for Department of Revenue’s online services.
You can use your SecureAccess Washington username and password to log into
My DOR. After you have logged in, you'll be able to pursue a claim,
file holder reports, send and receive secure messages, and conduct other
secure tax and licensing business with the department.
SecureAccess Washington (SAW) is an application gateway created and maintained by Washington Technology Solutions (WaTech).
SAW allows users to access multiple state government services with the use of a single user ID and password.
To learn more, visit the SecureAccess Washington FAQs